top of page

Initial art stages

I am currently working on the art for Phaneron, this post is mainly going to be an art spam with a few comments explaining the images.

To start the project I gathered a load of reference images and started 3 different moodboards:

one for real world references...

one for art style reference...

and one for the dream world.

You can also look at my Pinterest boards:

FMP Environment-

FMP Character-

Here are some initial sketches of Phe:

Here's a quick painting of Phe in Photoshop:

Here's a collection of environment sketches and paintings:

Moving on from sketches I started to do some thumbnails for the environment to try and get a base of what the world would look and feel like.

I also did some experimenting at this point and designed a puzzle in 3DS Max then rendered and painted over it.

The next stage was to do photobashing to try and get a cohesive scene in time for the DBACE pitch. I made a moving environment to show off my ideas:

Use these two main images: http://www.tate.org.uk/context-comment/blogs/staff-secrets-what-do-st-ives and http://loca-love.pl/inspiracje-3/

Continuing with the photobashing idea I did a paintover of an image by Jimmy Malachier the original image can be found here: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/rocks-needed

I also did a quick photobash of the environment after we decided that we wanted the main area of the game to be focused around a tower, that you work your way up. The tower in this lower image is a photograph by Javier Cortina which can be found here: http://intheblueside.tumblr.com/post/141885918798/st-andrews-cathedral-scotland-by-javier-cortina

I quickly did a mock up of some tile puzzles in Photoshop:

I then took this into 3DS Max and made a video showing how the puzzle works and how the tiles move.

Finally I made a new moodboard showing all of the different levels of the tower and what their themes are:

That's all for now, I will be working on this forever so look out for new updates.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page