top of page

Olive's hair and meeting mentors

This week I got on to trying to figure out how to model Olive's hair firstly I tried zbrushing a couple of the braids to see how well it would bake down.

I tried the original fairly high poly braid, sculpted it and baked it; this work fairly well so I decided to make a lower poly braid closer looking to what I wanted. I then sculpted

and baked this and it worked so well that I am going to use this technique for all of Olive's hair.

After testing this out I decided to make a low poly braid and attach it to Olive's head, I also started to strip model her hair as shown in the pictures below:

However I am not 100% happy with the fringe at the moment, I am going to go back to make it more square rather than the pointy triangles it is now.

I also worked with Hazrat this week trying to get an overall feel for the journey through the level. So we made a visual storyboard showing the different elements we want throughout the level.

We also started working on a map view of the area so that James can use this to get the block out in engine more accurate. Using Hazrats gameplay/level design drawings we pieced together the different segments creating a map. Here it is at the moment, I am still waiting on Haz to finish the last few segments so that we can draw over everything completely then hand it over to James to create in engine.

The week we were also given our industry mentors I have a very talented tech artist but he also does character modelling, prop modelling, sculpting, concepting, line art, and coding. I will be talking to him via email as he his in the US but as a group we are all using Hazrat's mentor that is in the UK; we speak to him on skype and will hopefully be able to go and see what he is working on soon. We also spoke to a previous student that now works at a company called 'Play hubs' and we will be incontact with her to talk about what we can do with our game after FMP. Overall the mentors feel that we are ahead of schedule but they feel that we are trying to do too much for the deadline. We will see how it goes and cut bits out if we need to.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page