top of page

Texturing Olive

Leading on from last week I continued to sculpt Olive and finished her body off, I also redid her braids to make them neater as they didn't bake too well the first time round.


After finishing the sculpt I was advised to make the knit on the scarf bigger so it was more readable from a distance. So I went back into zbrush to try and get the scarf looking better; this was hell as it's really hard to get the stencils to match up and I also had a lot of trouble baking this in Xnormal, I would constantly get artifacts.

I finally got something I thought looked better and started to block texture olive with some temporary colours. I also placed in her eyes which a bit funny at first.

At this time I got back to deciding on Olive's clothing colours, I started off working with autumn colour palettes and then varied them as I went on.

After getting to this stage I started to eliminate them with advice from Craig.

After deciding on which ones we like we took two and added patterns to make them look more like pjs.

I ended up keeping the one that I liked and got feedback from a peer saying that the red of the scarf should be more burgundy and that the eyes clashed so I decided to make them a golden hazel colour. Craig also mentioned that the scarf knit was still too small on the sculpt so he directed me to this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5J-rwOdENg. Where I created this:

A scarf brush; It was still tricky to get the patterns to match up when you finish a stroke but worked a lot better than using the stencil tool. Here's the final normal map on Olive and an updated diffuse:

I also started to model some little assets for Olive's bedroom just to get ahead in that.

I will continue to work on Olive this week getting her textures finished and hopefully starting to animate her for engine.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page