top of page

Wilderness Warrior: The final outcome

Continuing on from last week I finished my texturing by Wednesday; here's what it looks like on the separate maps:

After getting feedback last week about my weapon (Club) I decided to test out a new one.

I liked that it was now tailored to the character but I didn't have enough tris left to model it and I felt that it was straying too far away from the original concept, therefore I stuck with the original design.

After finishing texturing I started to rig my character. I did this by editing the biped to fit the model and then editing the weighting to fix how the character stretches and moves when animated. Here's the model with the biped inside:

After I finished fiddling with the weighting I put it into Mixamo; a cool online rigging and animating website to see if my character was rigged well enough. It was even though there is some unwanted stretching on the leg area in some of the animations, this is expected because they are made for a human with realistic proportions. After testing this I put the character in a pose and made a cute little scene to go with him. During this week I also learn't how to cellshade; Its really quick and easy but doubles the tris you use, therefore I have only done some renders of this to show what it would look like if I was allowed to double the tricount and have handed in the normal non-cellshaded version.

Here is what the final model looks like:

Overall I'm really happy with how the model has come out considering I am not a strong character modeller or painter. Obviously there is things I could change for example the back of the character is quite plan which if he was being used for a 3rd person game its quite boring to look at. Little things like this I didn't think about when working on this project and I might still go back and edit him in the future to make him perfect.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page