top of page

Workflows/Pipelines

After my presentation on my research thus far I was advised to apply more logic to the workflows/pipeline I had gathered before. So using Michael Powell's example of escape studios presentation on how they see their VFX pipeline I am applying that logic to my pipelines (the presentation isn't available online and there isn't an image of their pipeline).

To start off I made a quick key to show what all the different shapes and colours mean:

The rectangle shapes are for things that are in pre-production.

The rounded rectangle shapes are for things that are in production.

The circle/oval shapes are for things that are post-production.

Everything that is in red are art related.

Everything that is in blue is tech related.

Everything that is in yellow is other.

When a shape is two colours is a mixture of those two disciplines.

Drop Dead Interactive's pipeline:

Small mobile development company's pipeline:

Penny Black Studio's pipeline:

Sigtrap Games' pipeline:

Automaton UK's pipeline:

Small sandbox game company's pipeline

After looking at how all these companies go about making their games it was important for me to look into how we would manage our workflow for our FMP. So I took everything I had learnt from the previous process and our FMP from last year and started structuring our workflow for this year with James' help. We mainly looked at the pipeline from Automaton and added our own knowledge of how we work to it. This is what we have come up with:

The rectangle shapes are for things that are in pre-production.

The rounded rectangle shapes are for things that are in production.

The circle/oval shapes are for things that in the polishing stage.

Everything that is in red is done by me.

Everything that is in blue is done by James.

Everything that is in green is both of us.

When choosing and splitting up job roles I looked back at my questionnaire research and used that for inspiration. For example Antagonist, Automaton, Humble grove and one of the anonymous companies (Small sandbox game company) all split their work up with art and tech being even and with a small part of other. I then took this and applied it to mine and James' roles; so I am art, James is tech and together we are other.

Automaton's job roles

Myself and James will stick to this pipeline when working on our FMP. After making this it is clear to see what each of us will be working on when and what we need to work on together.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page